Binance Loans:
unmatched scale and real transparency mechanics, sitting on a genuinely severe criminal past.
We tore apart Binance Loans, the crypto-backed lending suite (Flexible Loan, VIP Loan, and Institutional Loan) built into the world's largest cryptocurrency exchange, using the same CeFi-adapted scorecard we built for this series' custodial platforms. From genuinely unmatched scale (loans up to $10 million for institutional clients, VIP Loans from $500,000, flexible retail loans from $1), a real, disclosed Proof-of-Reserves practice running since late 2022, publicly known leadership (founder Changpeng "CZ" Zhao, succeeded by former regulator Richard Teng), and a disclosed Interest Rebate Program that can return the full cost of borrowing to qualifying institutional clients, to a real, severe, disclosed history worth centering directly: in November 2023, Binance agreed to a $4.3 billion settlement with the US DOJ, FinCEN, OFAC, and CFTC after admitting to Bank Secrecy Act violations, including internal compliance staff joking about facilitating money laundering, alongside sanctions violations and operating an unregistered derivatives platform; CZ pleaded guilty personally and served four months in federal prison. We also found that Binance's own Flexible Loan collateral is actively deployed into its Simple Earn product while backing your loan, a real, disclosed structural detail worth understanding precisely; and landed on a score the marketing page won't show you.
Our take, up front: Binance Loans is the crypto-backed lending suite built into Binance, the world's largest cryptocurrency exchange by spot and derivatives volume. Like CoinRabbit, this is a centralized, custodial product, not a non-custodial DeFi protocol, but the resemblance mostly ends there: Binance operates at a genuinely different scale and under a genuinely different transparency and regulatory regime. Real, genuinely unmatched scale: Institutional Loan coverage up to $10 million with cross-margin across 10 sub-accounts, VIP Loans from $500,000, and retail Flexible Loans from as little as $1 equivalent. Real, disclosed Proof-of-Reserves practice running since Binance engaged Mazars in November 2022, with quarterly attestations continuing as of 2026, a real, independently-verifiable custody signal CoinRabbit couldn't offer. Real, publicly known leadership: founder Changpeng "CZ" Zhao, succeeded as CEO by Richard Teng, a former Singapore MAS and Abu Dhabi regulator, following the terms of a 2023 settlement. Real, disclosed Interest Rebate Program that can return the full monthly cost of institutional borrowing to clients who meet trading-activity targets, and fixed-rate 30/60/90-day term loans for predictable financing costs. What we can't set aside: a real, severe, disclosed regulatory history. In November 2023, Binance agreed to a $4.3 billion settlement with the US DOJ, FinCEN, OFAC, and CFTC, admitting to Bank Secrecy Act violations that included internal compliance staff joking about facilitating money laundering, alongside sanctions violations and operating an unregistered derivatives platform for US persons; CZ personally pleaded guilty to a Bank Secrecy Act violation and served four months in federal prison before his September 2024 release. A separate SEC civil suit alleging unregistered securities-exchange operation remained active as of our research. We also found a real, disclosed structural detail worth understanding precisely: Binance's retail Flexible Loan collateral is actively subscribed to Simple Earn Flexible Products while it backs your loan, meaning it's deployed to generate yield rather than sitting fully idle. Real, disclosed prior incident: a May 2019 hack drained roughly $40 million (7,000 BTC) from Binance's hot wallet via phishing and compromised API keys; the loss was fully covered by Binance's own SAFU emergency fund with no impact to users, and cold storage and individual user wallets were unaffected. We weighted all of it below.
Real, disclosed Proof-of-Reserves practice running since Binance engaged Mazars in November 2022, with quarterly attestations continuing as of 2026, a genuinely independent, verifiable custody signal. Real, disclosed SAFU emergency fund, which fully covered the May 2019 hack (~$40M, hot wallet, phishing/API-key compromise) with zero user losses; cold storage and individual user wallets were unaffected. Real, disclosed recent "Withdraw Protection" security feature (2026). What we can't set aside: a real, severe, disclosed regulatory history. In November 2023, Binance agreed to a $4.3 billion settlement with the US DOJ, FinCEN, OFAC, and CFTC, admitting to Bank Secrecy Act violations that included internal compliance staff joking about facilitating money laundering, alongside sanctions violations and operating an unregistered derivatives platform. A separate SEC civil suit alleging unregistered securities-exchange operation remained active as of our research. Real, disclosed structural detail: retail Flexible Loan collateral is actively subscribed to Simple Earn Flexible Products while backing your loan, meaning it's deployed to generate yield rather than sitting fully idle.
Pros
- Quarterly Proof-of-Reserves attestations since late 2022, a real, independently-verifiable signal
- 2019 hack fully covered by Binance's own SAFU fund; zero user losses, cold storage unaffected
- A 5-year independent DOJ monitor with full access to books and compliance systems is now in place
Cons
- Nov 2023: $4.3B settlement for Bank Secrecy Act, sanctions, and unregistered-derivatives violations
- Internal compliance staff documented joking about facilitating money laundering, per the DOJ record
- Separate, active SEC civil fraud suit alleging unregistered securities-exchange operation
- Flexible Loan collateral is actively deployed into Earn products rather than held fully idle
Real, disclosed, genuinely unmatched scale for this category: Institutional Loan coverage up to $10 million with cross-margin aggregation across 10 sub-accounts, VIP Loans from $500,000, and retail Flexible Loans from as little as $1 equivalent. Real, disclosed status as the world's largest exchange by spot and derivatives volume, clearing more daily trades than the next two exchanges combined per one detailed 2026 source.
Pros
- Loan coverage spanning $1 retail to $10M institutional in one platform
- World's largest exchange by trading volume, per multiple 2026 sources
Cons
- Scale concentrates real, disclosed systemic importance in a single custodial entity
Real, disclosed, publicly known founder (Changpeng "CZ" Zhao) and current CEO (Richard Teng, a former Singapore MAS and Abu Dhabi regulator), installed under the terms of the 2023 settlement. Real, disclosed 5-year independent DOJ monitor with full access to Binance's books, compliance systems, and transaction data. Real, disclosed licensing across multiple named jurisdictions (Dubai VARA, France PSAN, Italy OAM, Spain, Poland, El Salvador). What tempers this: the underlying conduct that made this level of external monitoring necessary in the first place was genuinely severe.
Pros
- Publicly known founder and a regulator-vetted current CEO
- An externally-imposed, 5-year independent compliance monitor is now active
- Licensed across multiple named jurisdictions
Cons
- CZ personally pleaded guilty to a Bank Secrecy Act violation and served federal prison time
- A separate, active SEC civil suit alleges unregistered securities-exchange operation
Real, disclosed wide range of loanable and collateral assets for retail Flexible Loans (USDT, BTC, ETH, and many more per Binance's own Loan Data page). Real, disclosed institutional support for USDT, USDC, BTC, and $U (United Stables). Real, disclosed restriction: same-currency collateral-loan pairs aren't supported.
Pros
- Wide range of loanable/collateral assets across retail and institutional tiers
Cons
- Same-currency collateral-loan pairs aren't supported
Real, disclosed instant, flexible, open-term borrowing from $1 equivalent at the retail tier. Real, disclosed tiered product structure (Flexible Loan, VIP Loan, Institutional Loan) matching user sophistication and scale. Real, disclosed customized margin-call processes for VIP users.
Pros
- Instant, flexible retail borrowing from $1; tiered products for larger users
Cons
- VIP/Institutional tiers require meaningful minimums ($500k+) and KYB verification
Real, disclosed no transaction fees on VIP Loans, offset by a 2% liquidation fee. Real, disclosed flexible (hourly-accrual) or fixed-term rate options. Real, disclosed Interest Rebate Program that can return the full monthly cost of institutional borrowing to clients meeting trading-activity targets, a genuinely distinctive value-add. Real, disclosed steep penalty structure: triple daily interest charged on overdue loans.
Pros
- Interest Rebate Program can return the full cost of institutional borrowing
- No VIP Loan transaction fees; flexible or fixed-rate options
Cons
- Triple daily interest charged on overdue loans, a notably steep penalty
Real, disclosed cross-margin aggregation across up to 10 sub-accounts for institutional clients. Real, disclosed fixed-rate 30/60/90-day term loans. Real, disclosed leverage up to 5x for eligible institutional clients. Real, disclosed Interest Rebate Program tied to trading volume, Open Interest, or Net Asset Value targets.
Pros
- Cross-margin sub-account aggregation; fixed-term options; institutional rebates
Cons
- Most advanced features are gated behind institutional/VIP eligibility
Access only through Binance's official site or app, and understand precisely which product tier fits your scale.
Given the real, disclosed scale differences between Flexible, VIP, and Institutional Loans, confirm the specific LTV thresholds, liquidation levels, and rate structure for the exact product you're using, and remember that Flexible Loan collateral is actively deployed into Simple Earn while it backs your loan, a detail worth understanding precisely before you borrow.
Real transparency mechanisms, at genuinely unmatched scale, carrying a genuinely severe criminal record.
We want to give Binance real credit for something CoinRabbit couldn't offer: verifiable custody signals. Quarterly Proof-of-Reserves attestations, a publicly known founder and a regulator-vetted current CEO, and a fully-disclosed, fully-covered 2019 hack with zero user losses are all genuine, checkable facts, not just marketing claims. That's meaningfully stronger evidence than an opaque platform can provide, and it's why Binance scores higher than CoinRabbit despite both being custodial. But we can't score this as if the 2023 settlement were a minor footnote. A $4.3 billion penalty for enabling money laundering and sanctions evasion, with internal staff joking about it in writing, is about as severe a disclosed conduct record as exists in this industry, and the fact that Binance survived it, reformed its leadership, and now operates under an independent monitor doesn't erase what actually happened. We think both things are true at once: this is a more verifiable, more scrutinized custodial platform than most, and it built that scrutiny by getting caught doing something genuinely serious.
The scorecard above is deliberately general. Whether Binance Loans is right for you depends heavily on which of these you already are.
The institutional or professional trader who wants large-scale, cross-margined borrowing with predictable, potentially rebated financing costs
This is exactly where Binance's genuine scale and institutional product depth deliver real, demonstrated value.
The existing Binance user who wants a quick, flexible, small-scale loan without opening a new custodial relationship elsewhere
If you already trust Binance with other assets, using its loan product adds minimal incremental counterparty exposure.
The user who understands their Flexible Loan collateral is actively deployed into Simple Earn while it backs their loan
Given this real, disclosed structural detail, understanding it precisely genuinely matters before borrowing.
Anyone who wants a lending platform with no serious disclosed history of regulatory or criminal misconduct
Aave, Compound, and Kamino, all reviewed earlier in this series, don't carry a comparable settled criminal record at the parent-entity level.
The scorecard covers the headline judgment calls. These four tables cover the specifics we didn't want to bury in prose; the $4.3B settlement broken down precisely, the 2019 hack timelined, the three loan tiers compared directly, and our fifth lending-platform comparison entry.
The $4.3 billion settlement, broken down
| Component | Amount | Regulator |
|---|---|---|
| Criminal fines | ~$1.81 billion | DOJ |
| Forfeitures | ~$2.51 billion | DOJ |
| Penalty | $3.4 billion (with credits) | FinCEN |
| Penalty | $968 million | OFAC |
| Penalty | $2.85 billion (with credits) | CFTC |
Substantial credits for amounts paid to other regulators brought the all-in cash outlay to roughly $4.3 billion; the underlying findings covered failing to file suspicious activity reports, processing transactions for sanctioned jurisdictions, and operating an unregistered derivatives platform for US persons.
The May 2019 hack, timelined
| Detail | What happened |
|---|---|
| Method | Phishing, viruses, and compromised API keys/2FA codes across multiple accounts |
| Amount | 7,000 BTC (~$40-41 million), roughly 2% of Binance's total BTC holdings |
| Scope | Hot wallet only; cold storage and individual user wallets were unaffected |
| Resolution | Fully covered by Binance's own SAFU emergency fund; no user losses |
This remains, to our knowledge, the only confirmed direct hack of Binance's own systems; it was handled transparently and compensated in full, years before the far more severe 2023 regulatory settlement.
Three loan tiers, compared
| Flexible Loan | VIP Loan | Institutional Loan | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Minimum | $1 equivalent | $500,000 | $1 million |
| Maximum | Not specified | Not specified | $10 million |
| Rate type | Flexible/open-term | Flexible (hourly) or stable (daily) | Fixed 30/60/90-day terms available |
| Eligibility | Any user | VIP users | KYB-verified VIP 1+ |
Institutional Loan eligibility was broadened from VIP 5+ to all KYB-verified VIP clients effective June 2026, alongside the Interest Rebate Program and higher leverage caps.
Lending platforms, side by side (series continues)
| Aave | Compound | CoinRabbit | Kamino | Binance Loans | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Model | Non-custodial DeFi | Non-custodial DeFi | Centralized CeFi | Non-custodial DeFi | Centralized CeFi |
| Named leadership? | Yes | Yes | No | Disputed across sources | Yes, with a regulator-vetted current CEO |
| Independent reserve/custody verification | Fully on-chain | Fully on-chain | None found | Fully on-chain | Quarterly Proof-of-Reserves since 2022 |
| Most severe disclosed history | $292M third-party bridge exploit | $161.7M self-inflicted governance bug | Structural transparency gaps | None found; survived two stress events | $4.3B DOJ/FinCEN/OFAC/CFTC settlement |
Binance Loans and CoinRabbit are both custodial, but Binance offers meaningfully more verifiable custody signals; its most severe disclosed history is regulatory and criminal in nature rather than a technical or transparency gap.
We don't just want to hand you our number; we want to show you how it sits next to what other review desks and comparison sites have published. We've excluded Binance's own press releases and product pages from this comparison, treating them instead as primary disclosures we weighted directly in the scorecard.
Our score lands modestly below the aggregated industry average; most general reviews we found focus on Binance's current scale, product breadth, and Proof-of-Reserves practice, and give somewhat less sustained weight to the severity of the 2023 settlement once it's framed as "resolved" and "monitored."
| Source | Score | Type |
|---|
Scores compiled by our editorial team from publicly available reviews as of August 2026. "Editorial estimate" means the outlet didn't publish a single numeric score, so we converted their published verdict and sentiment into a comparable 100-point figure. Verify current figures directly with each source before citing them elsewhere.
Yes, once directly: a May 2019 hack drained roughly $40 million (7,000 BTC) from Binance's hot wallet via phishing and compromised API keys. It was fully covered by Binance's own SAFU emergency fund with zero user losses; cold storage and individual user wallets were unaffected.
In November 2023, Binance agreed to a $4.3 billion settlement with the DOJ, FinCEN, OFAC, and CFTC, admitting to Bank Secrecy Act violations, sanctions violations, and operating an unregistered derivatives platform. Founder Changpeng "CZ" Zhao personally pleaded guilty to a Bank Secrecy Act violation and served four months in federal prison.
Your Flexible Loan collateral is disclosed as actively subscribed to Simple Earn Flexible Products while it backs your loan, meaning it's deployed to generate yield rather than held fully idle. Understand this precisely before borrowing.
Proof-of-Reserves is an independent verification that an exchange holds assets equal to or greater than customer liabilities. Binance began this practice in November 2022 with auditor Mazars and continues quarterly attestations as of 2026.
Flexible Loans are open to any user from $1 equivalent. VIP Loans require a $500,000 minimum and VIP status. Institutional Loans require KYB verification, start at $1 million, go up to $10 million, and support cross-margin aggregation across up to 10 sub-accounts.
Richard Teng, a former Singapore MAS and Abu Dhabi regulator, has served as CEO since November 2023. Founder Changpeng "CZ" Zhao remains a shareholder but was barred from operational involvement for three years under the terms of the DOJ settlement.
Both are centralized, custodial platforms, but Binance offers meaningfully more verifiable custody signals: quarterly Proof-of-Reserves, publicly known leadership, and an independent DOJ-imposed compliance monitor. Binance's most severe disclosed history is a settled, serious regulatory and criminal matter, while CoinRabbit's main concern is a lack of verifiable information altogether.
Overdue loans are charged triple daily interest, a notably steep penalty, and you will be liquidated if you fail to repay after the overdue period.
More Reviews
Ledn – Crypto Lending & Borrowing Review
Score: 75/100. Highest CeFi score in this series: 10 straight PoR attestations, explicit no-re-lending pledge, never lost customer funds.
Read MoreAave – Crypto Lending & Borrowing Review
Score: 69.5/100. Category leader hit hardest by the Apr 2026 KelpDAO crisis: $124-230M bad debt, its largest liquidity event yet.
Read MoreCompound – Crypto Lending & Borrowing Review
Score: 63.25/100. Pioneer whose 2021 self-inflicted $161.7M COMP bug remains its scar, though its caution spared it in Apr 2026.
Read MoreCoinRabbit – Crypto Lending & Borrowing Review
Score: 50.5/100. Fast, no-KYC lending with a great product, but no named founder, no PoR, and vague licensing behind it.
Read More



