Kamino:
a clean record that's actually been tested, not just audited.
We tore apart Kamino Finance, Solana's largest lending protocol, across the same lending-adapted scorecard we've used throughout this series. From a genuinely clean incident record backed by something stronger than audits alone, a detailed, professional Q2 2026 investor report confirming Kamino absorbed two real ecosystem stress events, the April 2026 Drift exploit's market-wide disruption and a June 2026 SOL price crash, with zero bad debt since inception, to extensive audits from four named firms plus an ongoing fuzzing program, a substantial $1.5 million Immunefi bug bounty, and a genuinely distinctive curator model where independent risk teams manage isolated markets with their own capital at stake via an Insurance Pool mechanic. We also found real, disclosed complexity worth naming directly: Lend, Liquidity vaults, and Multiply leverage are separate contract systems with cross-dependencies, a genuine structural risk even without an incident to point to yet. We found a real, unresolved discrepancy on founder transparency across our sources, and a KMNO governance token that's fallen roughly 93% from its all-time high even as the protocol itself grew; and landed on a score the marketing page won't show you.
Our take, up front: Kamino Finance is Solana's largest lending protocol, launched in August 2022 as an automated liquidity-vault manager before absorbing lending (K-Lend) in 2023. Real, genuinely clean incident record, corroborated by something stronger than the usual audit list: a detailed, professional Q2 2026 investor report confirms Kamino processed two real ecosystem stress events, the market-wide disruption following the April 2026 exploit of Drift (a separate Solana protocol, for roughly $285 million) and a June 2026 SOL price decline that triggered broad deleveraging, while preserving zero bad debt since inception. Real, extensive audits from four named firms (OtterSec, Offside Labs, Sec3, and Halborn), a fourth formal verification of Kamino Lend completed by mid-2026, ongoing fuzzing integrated into code review, and a dedicated security transparency page. Real, disclosed Immunefi bug bounty paying up to $1.5 million for critical smart-contract bugs. Real, genuinely distinctive curator model: independent risk teams manage isolated markets, backed by an Insurance Pool mechanic where curators lock their own capital with a cooldown period as disclosed skin-in-the-game. Real, disclosed institutional traction: partnerships with Apollo and Maple for on-chain credit, and the first major DeFi lender to accept tokenized stocks as collateral via Superstate's Opening Bell. What we can't set aside: real, disclosed structural complexity, Lend, Liquidity vaults, and Multiply leverage are separate contract systems with cross-dependencies, a genuine risk factor even without an incident to point to. We also found a real, unresolved discrepancy on founder transparency: one detailed source states the founding team has not publicly disclosed identities, while another names two specific co-founders directly. Real, disclosed, severe KMNO governance-token decline, roughly 93% below its December 2024 high, even as the protocol itself grew. We weighted all of it below.
Real, genuinely clean incident record, corroborated by something stronger than audits alone: a detailed, professional Q2 2026 investor report confirms Kamino processed two real ecosystem stress events, the April 2026 Drift exploit's market-wide disruption and a June 2026 SOL price decline that triggered broad deleveraging, while preserving zero bad debt since inception. Real, extensive audits from four named firms (OtterSec, Offside Labs, Sec3, Halborn), a fourth formal verification of Kamino Lend completed by mid-2026, ongoing fuzzing integrated into code review, and a dedicated security transparency page. Real, disclosed Immunefi bug bounty paying up to $1.5 million for critical smart-contract bugs. Real, disclosed Insurance Pool mechanic where curators lock their own capital with a cooldown period as skin-in-the-game. What tempers this: real, disclosed structural complexity, Lend, Liquidity vaults, and Multiply leverage are separate contract systems with cross-dependencies, named directly as a genuine risk factor by a detailed source even without an incident to point to.
Pros
- Zero bad debt since inception, confirmed through two real ecosystem stress events per a professional Q2 2026 report
- Four named audit firms, ongoing fuzzing, and a dedicated security transparency page
- $1.5M Immunefi bug bounty; curator Insurance Pool with real capital at stake
Cons
- Lend, Liquidity vaults, and Multiply are separate, interdependent contract systems, a real, disclosed complexity risk
Real, disclosed dominant position specifically in Solana lending, well ahead of MarginFi (~$700M), Save (~$400M), and Drift's spot lending (~$300M). Real, disclosed TVL volatility: peaked near $2.8-3.2 billion in late 2025/early 2026, declining to roughly $1.2-1.5 billion by mid-2026 across our sources, tracking SOL price correction and sector-wide deleveraging. Real, disclosed discrepancy on overall Solana ranking: some sources credit Kamino with Solana's top overall TVL slot, while another credits Jito with that distinction and Kamino with leading specifically in lending. Real, disclosed fast-scaling new market: $529 million in Ethena Market deposits within one quarter of a May 2026 launch.
Pros
- Dominant Solana lending market share, well ahead of named competitors
- $529M Ethena Market deposits in one quarter, the fastest-scaling launch in the protocol's history
Cons
- TVL declined roughly 45-55% from its 2025 peak amid broader market conditions
- Sources disagree on whether Kamino or Jito holds Solana's top overall TVL slot
Real, disclosed functioning KMNO governance token controlling risk parameters, asset listings, and fee distribution. Real, genuinely distinctive curator model: independent risk teams manage isolated markets, with a public risk dashboard for visibility. Real, disclosed, named VC backing (Delphi Ventures, LongHash Ventures). What we can't fully resolve: a real, unresolved discrepancy on founder transparency across our sources, one detailed source states the founding team has not publicly disclosed identities, while another names two specific co-founders directly.
Pros
- Distinctive curator model with a public risk dashboard; named VC backers
- Functioning KMNO governance over risk parameters and asset listings
Cons
- Unresolved discrepancy across sources on whether founders are publicly identified
- KMNO carries no direct claim on protocol revenue, disclosed directly by the protocol
Real, disclosed broad, Solana-ecosystem-specific asset support: SOL, USDC, USDT, JLP, jitoSOL, and PYUSD since 2025. Real, genuinely distinctive, first-mover collateral support: the first major DeFi lender to accept tokenized stocks as collateral, via Superstate's Opening Bell, alongside a dedicated Ethena-specific market.
Pros
- First major DeFi lender to accept tokenized stocks as collateral
- Broad, Solana-native asset coverage across isolated, risk-segmented markets
Cons
- Solana-native scope, unlike multi-chain aggregators reviewed earlier in this project
Real, disclosed public risk dashboard for transparency into individual market health. Real, disclosed one-click "Multiply" feature that automates what would otherwise be a manual, multi-step leveraged-looping process.
Pros
- Public risk dashboard; one-click Multiply leverage automation
Cons
- A genuinely complex product suite (Lend, Liquidity, Multiply) may require real onboarding effort for newer users
Real, disclosed, reasonably competitive USDC supply rates (4-9% APY across 2026, depending on borrow demand). Real, disclosed, precise profitability metrics: an 11.3% net interest margin in Q2 2026, down slightly from 11.7% in Q1, per a detailed professional report. Real, disclosed protocol fee structure: a cut of borrower interest, plus performance and management fees on automated vaults.
Pros
- Competitive, disclosed USDC supply rates; precise, professional-grade margin reporting
Cons
- Vault performance/management fees add a layer of cost beyond simple lending spreads
Real, genuinely extensive, distinctive feature set: automated concentrated-liquidity vaults on Orca and Raydium, one-click Multiply leverage, fixed-rate loan products, a private credit vault, an RWA-focused DEX, and the industry-first tokenized-stock collateral integration.
Pros
- Genuinely extensive, distinctive feature set spanning lending, vaults, leverage, and RWA
- Real institutional integrations (Apollo, Maple, Anchorage Digital)
Cons
- Breadth of features adds to the structural complexity flagged in the security category
Access only through Kamino's official app, and understand which specific product (Lend, Liquidity, or Multiply) you're actually using.
Given the real, disclosed cross-dependencies between Kamino's separate contract systems, take the time to understand which product you're in and what its specific liquidation and leverage mechanics are, rather than assuming "Kamino" is a single, uniform risk profile across Lend, vaults, and Multiply.
The strongest security story in this series so far, because it's been tested, not just written down.
Every protocol we've reviewed in this series can point to audits. What sets Kamino apart is that its clean record survived actual contact with real stress: the market-wide disruption from a separate protocol's $285 million exploit, and a genuine SOL price crash that triggered broad deleveraging, both in the same quarter, confirmed by a detailed, professional investor report rather than the protocol's own marketing. That's a meaningfully stronger form of evidence than a clean audit history alone, and it's why Kamino edges out every other protocol we've reviewed in this series so far. We don't think that earns an unqualified pass, though. The same product suite that makes Kamino genuinely powerful, stacking lending, automated vaults, and one-click leverage together, also stacks real, disclosed contract complexity that hasn't yet been tested by its own dedicated incident. And we can't responsibly wave away a real, unresolved question about who's actually running the protocol, when our own sources can't agree on whether the founders are public at all.
The scorecard above is deliberately general. Whether Kamino is right for you depends heavily on which of these you already are.
The Solana-native user who wants the deepest lending liquidity on the network and a track record tested by real stress events
This is exactly where Kamino's genuine scale and demonstrated operational resilience concentrate most heavily.
The user who wants automated concentrated-liquidity vaults or one-click Multiply leverage alongside straightforward lending
This genuinely distinctive, unified product suite is a real convenience most single-product lending protocols don't offer.
The user who takes time to understand which specific product, Lend, Liquidity, or Multiply, they're actually using
Given the real, disclosed cross-dependencies between these separate contract systems, this specific habit genuinely matters here.
Anyone who wants complete certainty about founder identity or a simpler, single-product lending experience
Aave and Compound, both reviewed earlier in this series, offer publicly confirmed founders and simpler, more singular product scopes.
The scorecard covers the headline judgment calls. These four tables cover the specifics we didn't want to bury in prose; the Q2 2026 stress-test data precisely, the founder-identity discrepancy explained, the curator/Insurance Pool mechanic, and our fourth lending-protocol comparison entry.
Q2 2026, stress-tested: the numbers
| Metric | Q2 2026 figure |
|---|---|
| Bad debt incurred | Zero, since inception, through two ecosystem stress events |
| Stress event 1 | Apr 1, 2026: separate protocol Drift exploited for ~$285M, disrupting Solana DeFi broadly |
| Stress event 2 | Early June 2026: SOL fell to a quarterly low, triggering broad deleveraging |
| Total revenue | $1.84M (-10.6% QoQ) |
| End-of-quarter deposits | $2.29B, with $940M in outstanding loans |
| Net interest margin | 11.3% (down from 11.7% in Q1 2026) |
This data comes from a detailed, professional third-party investor report, not the protocol's own marketing, which is why we weighted it more heavily than a typical audit summary.
The founder-identity discrepancy, disclosed
| Source | Claim |
|---|---|
| Solana Compass | "The founding team has not publicly disclosed identities" |
| Fortune | Names "Mark Hull and Marius Ciubotariu" as founders, 2022 |
We couldn't fully reconcile this discrepancy from our sources; we're disclosing both claims directly rather than presenting either as settled fact.
The curator model and Insurance Pool, explained
| What it is | |
|---|---|
| Curator model | Independent risk teams, not just Kamino's core team, manage individual isolated markets |
| Insurance Pool | Curators lock their own capital, with a cooldown period, as disclosed skin-in-the-game against their own market's risk |
| Public risk dashboard | Discloses individual market health and parameters for user visibility |
This is a genuinely distinctive structure relative to Aave and Compound, where risk parameters are set by the core protocol's own governance and external risk managers like Gauntlet, rather than by capital-committed, independent curators per market.
Lending protocols, side by side (series continues)
| Aave | Compound | CoinRabbit | Kamino | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Model | Non-custodial DeFi | Non-custodial DeFi | Centralized CeFi | Non-custodial DeFi |
| Most severe incident | Third-party bridge exploit ($292M, Apr 2026) | Self-inflicted governance bug ($161.7M at risk, 2021) | No incident; structural transparency gaps | None found; survived two stress events with zero bad debt |
| Chain | 21+ chains | Ethereum + expanding L2s | N/A (custodial) | Solana-native |
| Distinctive model | Multi-network V3/V4; native GHO | Isolated Comet markets | Fixed-rate, no-KYC loans | Curator-managed isolated markets + Insurance Pool |
Kamino is the first Solana-native protocol in this series, and the first whose clean record is corroborated by third-party financial reporting of real stress events rather than the absence of a reported incident alone.
We don't just want to hand you our number; we want to show you how it sits next to what other review desks and comparison sites have published. We've excluded the Blockworks Q2 2026 investor report and Kamino's own security page from this general comparison, treating them instead as primary evidence we weighted directly in the scorecard.
Our score lands closely aligned with the aggregated industry average, one of the smallest gaps we've found across this lending series so far; the genuinely strong, tested security record we weighted heavily is the same quality most independent sources single out favorably.
| Source | Score | Type |
|---|
Scores compiled by our editorial team from publicly available reviews as of August 2026. "Editorial estimate" means the outlet didn't publish a single numeric score, so we converted their published verdict and sentiment into a comparable 100-point figure. Verify current figures directly with each source before citing them elsewhere.
We found no confirmed hack or exploit of Kamino's own contracts. More notably, a detailed, professional Q2 2026 investor report confirms Kamino processed two real ecosystem stress events, the fallout from Drift's $285 million exploit and a June 2026 SOL price crash, while preserving zero bad debt since inception.
Kamino is Solana's largest lending protocol specifically. Our sources disagree on whether it also holds Solana's top overall TVL slot; one source credits Jito with that broader distinction while crediting Kamino with leading the lending category.
Our sources disagree. One detailed source states the founding team has not publicly disclosed identities; another names two specific co-founders, Mark Hull and Marius Ciubotariu, from 2022. We couldn't fully reconcile this discrepancy and are disclosing both claims directly.
Independent risk teams, not just Kamino's core team, manage individual isolated markets. Many curators also lock their own capital into an Insurance Pool with a cooldown period, disclosed as skin-in-the-game against their own market's specific risk.
A one-click leveraged looping feature, primarily used on liquid staking tokens, that automates what would otherwise be a manual, multi-step process of borrowing and re-depositing to increase yield exposure.
Yes, via Superstate's Opening Bell, making it the first major DeFi lender to accept tokenized stocks as collateral, per multiple sources.
KMNO grants governance voting rights over risk parameters and asset listings, staking boosts on lending rewards, and access to seasonal incentive programs. It carries no direct claim on protocol revenue, disclosed directly by the protocol. KMNO has fallen roughly 93% from its December 2024 high.
Jupiter Lend is a fast-growing competitor that reached roughly 35% of Solana's lending market by December 2025, largely by launching inside the already widely-used Jupiter aggregator app. At least one detailed source frames the contrast as Kamino winning on product depth and institutional integrations, while Jupiter Lend wins on distribution.
More Reviews
Ledn – Crypto Lending & Borrowing Review
Score: 75/100. Highest CeFi score in this series: 10 straight PoR attestations, explicit no-re-lending pledge, never lost customer funds.
Read MoreAave – Crypto Lending & Borrowing Review
Score: 69.5/100. Category leader hit hardest by the Apr 2026 KelpDAO crisis: $124-230M bad debt, its largest liquidity event yet.
Read MoreCompound – Crypto Lending & Borrowing Review
Score: 63.25/100. Pioneer whose 2021 self-inflicted $161.7M COMP bug remains its scar, though its caution spared it in Apr 2026.
Read MoreCoinRabbit – Crypto Lending & Borrowing Review
Score: 50.5/100. Fast, no-KYC lending with a great product, but no named founder, no PoR, and vague licensing behind it.
Read More



